R is for Rock

706320_10151125762716837_1508253897_o“It’s just a rock indicating the communal grounds.” Villager J said.

“Are we talking about the same one here?” I wanted to make sure. The one which was oval-shaped and around two and a half metres long, sort of at the t-junction of the path, a bit further than a kilometre from here. It had a Celtic cross carved on top. I got a shoulder shrug in reply. “Forget about it. It’s nothing chica.”

Maybe villager J was right. Things like this didn’t happen anyway, stumbling across ancient rock carvings while going on a walk.

I forgot about it. Until a few months after I  finally had an internet connection and decided to google. I really knew nothing about rock carvings, or petroglyphs or Celts for that matter but I was interested to find out more. I googled Petroglyphs,Galicia and clicked images.

What I saw on the screen nearly made me fall of my chair and my rational mind told me I was mistaken. It made all my hairs stand on end.

It was a symbol I knew as the Hopi Indian symbol for Mother Earth, some people called it the Tree of life. Here on this website it was referred to as a labyrinth. Yet this was three thousand years old. How did a Hopi Indian symbol turn up in Galicia?  Surely scholars must have noticed the similarities between it too.

Google provided me with the proof that indeed I had not lost my mind, that it was the same symbol. The same labyrinth symbol has also been found in Stonehenge and Crete and other important historical sites in the world. There are many weird and wonderful theories about them.

The rock near the village turned out not to have a Celtic cross in the middle, it was a cross which had been carved in there at a later date. What I hadn’t noticed that day due to the sun being high, was that it had six concentrical rings.

I spend hours in the hills after that, slightly obsessed, when I had been told there were others, I borrowed a horse from a villager who lived nearby so I could scan the overgrowth for more rocks. A few times I thought I had uncovered significant finds, rocks which had the most amazing shapes,  as if a giant had sculpted them, but it turned out natural erosion. Eventually I did come across two other rock carvings, but none of them were as spectacular as the concentrial rings. I think it is the shape of the rock itself that makes it so unique too, it looks as if it is draped on top.

Recently, while on a walk I noticed villager O’s son in law at the stone. He was prodding it with a stick. I had mentioned something about the rock a few days before and he obviously wanted to check it out for himself. He joked about wanting to dig it out. ”Best not to mess with it.” I advised him. He looked at me and asked me why. ”Witchcraft.” I explained. “Ancient man knew things we didn’t. This stone could have powers.” He wasn’t sure whether I was serious and I left it at that.

I often stand at the stone and wonder what ancient man was thinking when he carved those concentrical rings.  Fact is I am not sure at all whether ancient man had secret wisdom, knowledge of magnetic fields or if it has anything to do with witchcraft.

Maybe ancient man simply was in awe of the ripple effect a water drop has in water.

Something modern mankind tends to forget to be in awe of.

241988_10150893264066837_1396444404_o 56004_10151098739701837_1238707959_o.jpg 471767_10150851575761837_2091916432_o 705271_10151125763446837_75931960_o

 

 

 

 

12 thoughts on “R is for Rock

  1. Trying to catch up on some reading during the off day. Ancient mysteries such as this have always interested me. There are so many unexplained phenomena like this that we’ll probably never know the answers to. I like your guess though. That rock must have some special meaning, the picture of it in your blog header is nice.

  2. It’s hard for me to see the overall design from the photos – though the photos are wonderful. If it’s a labyrinth, one possible design is the Cretan labyrinth, which supposedly dates originally from Crete 3,000 years ago. If it’s that kind of labyrinth, one can trace a path from the outside to the center and back again, without any dead ends or trick corners. It will be one way in and one way out. No way to get lost. It’s a powerful symbol. The Christians adopted the labyrinth into a symbol of Pilgrimage to Jerusalem, like in the Chartres Cathedral labyrinth.

  3. Pingback: The whatifs and shouldhavedones | CHICADEROCK

  4. Pingback: K is for Knowledge | CHICADEROCK

  5. Pingback: Q is for Quarry | CHICADEROCK

Leave a Reply

