Tornado

“Yeah we had one here once.” J said.

J says lots of things. J claims lots of things and tells me lots of things, more often than not to shock me and then he will either sit back or stand back to carefully observe my reactions.

“You are full of shit.” was my response.

“No, seriously.” he said, and kept an even face. When he’s not entirely serious the smirk normally shines through. This time he made a real effort to come across convincing.

I am not sure how the conversation continued. He probably told me an exaggerated version of the truth, with whole trees from other villages ending up in our village, cows flying through the air, people holding on to their anxious donkeys. I didn’t listen. I thought about what it would be like to see one.

The weird thing is, I love tornado’s. I love tornado’s for the simple reason that I’ve never seen one. I gathered that feeling of utter powerlessness when confronted with one would be, ironically enough, really powerful.

Last summer, in July, the sky turned a type of dark I’d never witnessed before. It wasn’t menacing, it was promising, I thought to myself, thinking about what J had said ”Yeah we had one here once.”

Yet all was calm. Birds where singing, I took some pictures of sunflowers who stood there tall like supermodels, soaking up the last few sun rays, the contrast other worldly. And then I noticed the sky had turned…strange.

sunflower

Storm Village

When the wind started to blow suddenly I yelled at my daughter to go inside with my husband. I wanted to stay outside, but when the rain started I followed suit and went indoors.

The storm which followed was one of the most violent I’ve ever experienced. The wind seemed to be coming from all directions. Huge hailstones, water coming in through the roof, puddles, electricity going off.

And just as quickly as it had appeared, it left.

It wasn’t until the day after that someone told us about the maize field at the edge of the village. ”Like a car having gone through it.” I went to check it out for myself and indeed, it did look like that.

Whether it was a tornado or not, I’ll never know.

But next time, I guess I might be crazy enough to stay outside. To take The Pic.  Like the ones I saw in the news today, at the Galician coast…

3 thoughts on “Tornado

    • Not typical, but not unheard of either. Northern Spain has got a very different climate from the rest of Spain, lots of rain too, hence that’s why it’s so green! 🙂

  1. Pingback: K is for Knowledge | CHICADEROCK

Leave a Reply

